Top 10 des meilleures randonnées en Arizona | Oriane Aventures

 

Voici mon top 10 des meilleures randonnées en Arizona. Saviez-vous que l'Arizona regorge de randonnées appelées « Hike » aux États-Unis ? Laissez-moi partager avec vous mes meilleurs itinéraires

Randonnée en Arizona| Mon top 10

  1. SEPT CHUTES – TUCSON
  2. CAMELBACK – PHOENIX
  3. TOMB’S THUMB – PHOENIX
  4. BLUE MESA – PETRIFIED FOREST
  5. SUNRISE PEAK TRAIL – FOUNTAIN HILLS
  6. WEST FORK TRAIL – SEDONA
  7. BRIGHT ANGEL TRAIL – GRAND CANYON
  8. MOUNT HUMPHREY – FLAGSTAFF
  9. SALOME JUG – SALOME CREEK
  10. BOB BEAR TRAILHEAD / FOSSIL CREEK – STRAWBERRY

Amateurs de nature et de randonnées ? J'aimerais partager avec vous quelques détails importants à connaître avant de prendre la route pour une randonnée en Arizona.

Randonnée en Arizona pendant l'été

Été en Arizona est synonyme de chaleur extrême. Il est vrai que nous atteignons 50 degrés Celsius après le printemps. La meilleure saison pour faire de la randonnée en Arizona est l'hiver et le début du printemps. A l'heure où j'écris cet article, nous sommes fin mars et il fait déjà 28 degrés, c'est pour vous dire ! Alors, réfléchissez avant de prendre la route pour des randonnées en plein été, de nombreux randonneurs ont perdu la vie sur ces sentiers. Si vous décidez de faire de la randonnée en Arizona pendant l'été, voici quelques tips:

  • Boire des litres d'eau fraîche pour ne pas se déshydrater
  • Mangez des aliments comme des barres de céréales ou des fruits.
  • Partez à l'aube pour éviter la chaleur écrasante
  • Préférez les randonnées avec des points d'eau pour vous rafraîchir
  • N'emmenez pas votre chien (ses coussinets brûlent à la chaleur du sol)

Ça y est, je t'avais prévenu aventurier.ère ! Il est maintenant temps de découvrir mon top 10 hikes in Arizona.

#1 SEVEN FALLS – TUCSON

Long, pittoresque, chaleureux, intermédiaire

seven falls Tucson | Hiking Arizona

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Distance:
13 km or 7km by tram

  • Duration: 4 hours
  • Price: $5 per day

Les six premiers passages d'eau sont regroupés sur un tronçon de 1 km. Je recommande fortement de vérifier the water levels avant votre aventure. Pendant la saison de la mousson de juin à septembre, le sentier peut être inaccessible et les crues soudaines sont une réalité dans le désert. Alors revérifiez. L'itinéraire est bien balisé, vous n'aurez aucune difficulté à suivre le sentier.

Namely:vous pouvez marcher ou prendre un tram (4$) jusqu'au début du sentier (ne pas vous emmener aux cascades en fin de parcours qui ne sont accessibles qu'à pied).

Pour conclure si vous prenez le tram, apportez de l'argent ! Il y a un guichet automatique à l'intérieur de la boutique cadeaux située dans le parking de départ (attention aux commissions au guichet).

Mon avis: J'aime vraiment qu'ils aient cette option. Prendre le tram réduit de moitié la randonnée qui ne fait que 7km aller et 7km retour. C'est très pratique si vous manquez de temps ou si vous ne voulez pas vous engager dans une randonnée de 13 km. Si vous prenez le tram, assurez-vous de connaître l'horaire du dernier (lien). Sinon, vous reviendrez à pied !

#2 CAMELBACK – PHOENIX

Short, very difficult, panoramic

camelback mountain hike | Hiking Arizona
  • Distance:2km round trip
  • Duration:2-3 hours round trip
  • Price: Free

L'Echo Canyon Trail et le Cholla Trail sont deux sentiers de randonnée considérés comme extrêmement difficiles. En effet, il faut grimper la moitié du temps à la force des bras et des mains. Néanmoins, les chiens sont interdits dans toutes les zones d'Echo Canyon et Cholla Trail qui est fermée pour le moment (avril 2021).


Parlons de la Echo Canyontrail.
C'est une montée raide et rocheuse qui nécessite de grimper pour atteindre le sommet, mais la vue à 360 degrés en vaut la peine. Le sentier Echo Canyon est considéré comme une montée plus difficile que le sentier Cholla. Certaines portions sont tellement raides qu'il faut grimper avec une corde.

Mon avis: Un sentier difficile avec une joie de gravir les rochers, et en prime une vue incroyable sur Phoenix et ses alentours. Je recommande!

#3 TOMB’S THUMB – PHOENIX

Challenging, overlooking view

| thumb trail tombs Hiking Arizona
  • Distance : 6.4km
  • Duration: 80-90 minutes
  • Price: Free

Le sentier du pouce du tombeau est un sentier sinueux. Premièrement, si vous voulez vous aventurer sur ce sentier, vous aurez une vue incroyable sur les montagnes Mcdowell et la ville de Phoenix. Le sentier est géré et encadré par des bénévoles de l'association par McDowell Sonoran Conservancy de Scottsdale. En revanche, il n'y a pas d'eau au début du sentier, alors apportez-en suffisamment pour rester hydraté. Texte

Mon avis: C'était l'un de mes premiers sentiers en Arizona. J'ai trouvé la randonnée assez compliquée mais la vue vaut le détour !

#4 BLUE MESA – PETRIFIED FOREST

Easy

blue mesa
  • Distance: 1.6 km loop
  • Starting point:Blue Mesa solar shelter
  • Price: Entrance fee to the national park

Blue Mesa Trail est situé dans le parc national de la forêt pétrifiée. Une fois au point de départ, vous trouverez un sentier qui alterne entre gravier et goudron. Une pente raide est au début et à la fin, rapide mais fatigante !

Ce sentier vous offre une expérience unique de marche parmi les collines d'argile bleutée ainsi que le bois pétrifié. De nombreux fossiles végétaux et animaux ont été découverts par les paléontologues dans les couches sédimentaires de Blue Mesa.

Mon avis: Ce sentier est très facile, pour se retrouver face à l'immensité de la nature et des bois pétrifiés. A faire absolument !

#5 SUNRISE TRAIL

Intermediate, grandiose

  • Distance: 8km
  • Starting point:Water fountain, N 145th Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85259
  • Price:Free
arizona sunrise trail

Sunrise Trail est un sentier situé près de Fountain Hills. Il offre des vues panoramiques à chaque nouveau virage avec une montée douce mais permanente. Vous atteindrez un belvédère à 2 km, au-delà duquel l'ascension s'intensifie. Le sommet offre des panoramas variés, notamment les 4 Peaks Wilderness, Superstition Wilderness, Fountain Hills, South Mountain, Camelback et les sommets voisins de la chaîne McDowell.

Mon avis: Ce sentier est parfait pour les randonneurs intermédiaires. Un peu de côte au bout et une vue incroyable vous attend. Une de mes plus belles découvertes autour de Phoenix.

#6 West Fork Trail

Intermediate, fun, poetic

west fork trail
  • Distance: 3km or 14km
  • Duration: 2-3 hours
  • Price: $11 per car

Il existe un certain nombre de raisons pour lesquelles West Fork est l'un des sentiers les plus populaires de la forêt nationale de Coconino. Une fois que vous aurez longé l'agréable petit ruisseau qui ondule le long du canyon, levez les yeux vers les falaises vertigineuses qui le dominent, vous en tomberez amoureux. West Fork est fantastique tout au long de l'année. Au printemps, des oiseaux chanteurs ornent les arbres. En automne, le canyon se pare de ses plus belles couleurs avec des feuilles rouges et dorées flottant dans des vasques transparentes. En hiver, les glaçons s'occupent des roches rouges. Vous trouverez probablement une nouvelle raison d'être ici à chaque visite. Quant au sentier lui-même, c'est une promenade facile, mais il faut traverser le ruisseau à plusieurs endroits. Habituellement, cela implique de négocier quelques sauts stratégiques ou de faire quelques pas en eau peu profonde. Le sentier est balisé et entretenu sur les trois premiers kilomètres.

Mon avis: I.N.C.R.O.Là.A.B.L.E, cette randonnée est époustouflante, mais attention il n'y a pas beaucoup de place de parking donc je vous conseille fortement de vous lever tôt !

#7 BRIGHT ANGEL

Long, Amazing, Secure

Bright angel trail Grand Canyon
  • Distance:20km round trip
  • Duration: 4-5 hours to the campsite
  • Price: Grand Canyon Park Entrance Fee $30 per car


Motivé pour votre première grande randonnée au Grand Canyon ? Alors laissez-moi vous présenter Bright Angel Trail. Il est considéré comme le premier sentier de randonnée du parc à avoir vu le jour. Bien entretenu, avec des points d'eau potable réguliers et des refuges couverts, c'est le sentier le plus sûr du Grand Canyon. Il y a un poste de garde forestier situé à mi-chemin du sentier (Indian Garden) et un autre au fond du canyon (Bright Angel Campground). Par temps chaud, je vous conseille de faire ce sentier car vous pourrez trouver de l'eau potable, de l'ombre régulière et des téléphones d'urgence sur le chemin.

Mon avis: Certainement un must si vous cherchez une randonnée au Grand Canyon, mais je ne recommande pas de le faire en une seule journée ! Faites une halte au camping pour la nuit.

#8 MOUNT HUMPHREY’S

Very long, elevation, scenic

humphrey peak trail
  • Duration: 6h
  • Distance : 16km
  • Price: Gratuits (pendant l'hiver), ils peuvent être obtenus les samedis et dimanches à l'Agassiz Lodge.

Rendez-vous au plus haut sommet de l'Arizona ! Découvrir Sentier du sommet de Humphrey.
Il commence à la station de ski Arizona Snowbowl à 2845m d'altitude jusqu'au sommet qui culmine à 3850m. Par temps clair, vous pouvez voir jusqu'au bord nord du Grand Canyon. Méfiez-vous des orages de l'après-midi pendant les mois d'été, c'est pourquoi il est préférable de commencer vos randonnées tôt le matin.

#9 SALOME JUG

LONG, DIFFICILE, AMUSANT

Salome Jug trail | Hiking Arizona
  • Difficulty: Extremely difficult for beginners in hiking, it is necessary to have a good physical condition.
  • Duration: 5/6h
  • Price: Free

Le Jug est un parcours comprenant un long trail et une partie canyoning. En fait, il comprend des toboggans aquatiques et un saut de 10 m depuis une cascade à la fin. (Attention : si vous n'êtes pas prêt à faire le saut final, ne vous aventurez pas dans le canyon, il n'y a pas de retour possible donc il faut prendre son courage à deux mains et sauter).
Indication: Une fois à l'approche du canyon, son entrée n'est pas bien indiquée. Pour pouvoir commencer la partie canyoning, il faut ouvrir la clôture pour le bétail bloquant le sentier. Une fois arrivé au sentier reconnaissable avec sa terre rouge, restez à gauche. c'est l'entrée du Canyon. Cependant, si vous partez vers la droite, il vous amène à la sortie du canyon sans passer par la partie aquatique. De plus, les deux chemins vous mènent au même point final. Cela permet par exemple à un groupe de se séparer si certains veulent faire le saut et d'autres non.

Mon avis: C'est de loin l'un de mes sentiers préférés avec son cours d'eau au milieu d'un canyon et à proximité du lac Rosevelt. Je vous conseille vivement de faire cette randonnée en mai/juin.

#10 FOSSIL CREEK

LONG | SCENIC

Fossil Spring| Hiking Arizona
  • Distance: 6km
  • Duration: 3h
  • Price: $6 or free out of season

Bob Bear Trailhead est le nom du sentier, mais vous trouverez facilement la destination en indiquant le nom de l'anse : Fossil Creek.
En premier lieu, le sentier est situé près de la ville de Strawberry. Le sentier descend for 6km dans le canyon. Le sentier offre une expérience panoramique incroyable, mais il est raide et extrêmement chaud pendant l'été. Il vous récompense avec l'accès à l'une des zones aquatiques les plus spectaculaires de l'Arizona. Il n'y a ni eau ni ombre sur les 3,75 premiers kilomètres du sentier. Le Bob Bear Trail est accessible via Fossil Creek Road depuis la ville de Strawberry.
Cependant, un permit est tenu de garer votre véhicule dans la zone de départ des sentiers à partir de April 1st to October 1st. C'est pourquoi durant cette saison, un maximum d'un permis par personne et par mois civil peut être réservé (un permis = une journée). Les permis sont disponibles le premier du mois, un mois à l'avance. Aucun permis n'est requis du 2 octobre au 31 mars.

Mon avis: Incroyable randonnée tout le long, une fois arrivé à la crique, prenez le temps et reprenez des forces. Cependant lorsque vous allez vous baigner, faites attention à ne pas sauter dans le bol, beaucoup y ont perdu la vie. Enfin seuls les nageurs expérimentés auront assez de force pour se rendre dans les grottes sous la cascade.

Pour terminer LEAVE NO TRACE! C'est un aspect qui est important pour moi. On voit beaucoup trop de déchets au bord de nos merveilleux sentiers alors je vous laisse avec leArizona Dream article apprendre à ne laisser aucune trace.

Avez-vous trouvé cet article sur la randonnée en Arizona intéressant ? Dis moi en commentaire

Laisse un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

Top 10 of the best hikes in Arizona | Oriane Adventures

 

Here are my top 10 best hikes in Arizona. Did you know that Arizona is full of hikes called “Hike” in the United States? Let me share with you my best itineraries.

Hiking in Arizona| My top 10

  1. SEVEN FALLS – TUCSON
  2. CAMELBACK – PHOENIX
  3. TOMB’S THUMB – PHOENIX
  4. BLUE MESA – PETRIFIED FOREST
  5. SUNRISE PEAK TRAIL – FOUNTAIN HILLS
  6. WEST FORK TRAIL – SEDONA
  7. BRIGHT ANGEL TRAIL – GRAND CANYON
  8. MOUNT HUMPHREY – FLAGSTAFF
  9. SALOME JUG – SALOME CREEK
  10. BOB BEAR TRAILHEAD / FOSSIL CREEK – STRAWBERRY

Nature and hiking lovers? I’d like to share with you some important details to know before you hit the road for a hike in Arizona.

Hiking in Arizona during the summer

Summer in Arizona is synonymous with extreme heat. It is true that we reach 50 degrees Celsius after spring. The best season for hiking in Arizona is winter, and early spring. At the time of writing this article, it’s the end of March and it’s already 28 degrees, that’s to tell you! So, think before you hit the road for hikes in the middle of summer, many hikers have lost their lives on these trails. If you decide to hike in Arizona during the summer, here are some tips:

  • Drink liters of fresh water so as not to be dehydrated
  • Have food like cereal bars or fruit.
  • Leave at dawn to avoid the overwhelming heat
  • Prefer hikes with water points to cool off
  • Do not take your dog (their pads burn on the heat of the ground)

That’s it, I warned you adventurer.ère! Now it’s time to discover my top 10 hikes in Arizona.

#1 SEVEN FALLS – TUCSON

Long, scenic, warm, intermediate

seven falls Tucson | Hiking Arizona

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Distance:
13 km or 7km by tram

  • Duration: 4 hours
  • Price: $5 per day

The first six water passages are grouped on a 1km stretch. I highly recommend checking the water levels before your adventure. During the monsoon season from June to September, the trail can be inaccessible and flash floods are a reality in the desert. So double-check. The route is well signposted, you will have no difficulty following the trail.

Namely:you can walk or take a tram ($4) to the beginning of the trail (do not take you to the waterfalls at the end of the course which are only accessible on foot).

To conclude if you take the tram, bring money! There is an ATM inside the gift shop located in the starting car park (beware of commissions at the counter).

My opinion: I really love that they have this option. Taking the tram reduces the hike by half, which is only 7km one way and 7km back. This is very handy if you are short on time or don’t want to commit to a 13km hike. If you take the tram, make sure you know the schedule of the last one (link). Otherwise, you’ll be back on foot!

#2 CAMELBACK – PHOENIX

Short, very difficult, panoramic

camelback mountain hike | Hiking Arizona
  • Distance:2km round trip
  • Duration:2-3 hours round trip
  • Price: Free

The Echo Canyon Trail and the Cholla Trail are two hiking trails that are considered extremely challenging. Indeed, you have to climb half the time with the strength of your arms and hands. Nevertheless, dogs are prohibited in all areas of Echo Canyon and Cholla Trail which is closed at the moment (April 2021).


Let’s talk about the Echo Canyontrail.
It’s a steep, rocky climb that requires climbing to reach the top, but the 360-degree view is worth it. The Echo Canyon Trail is considered a more difficult climb than the Cholla Trail. Some portions are so steep that it is necessary to climb with a rope.

My opinion: A difficult trail with a joy to climb the rocks, and as a bonus an incredible view of Phoenix and its surroundings. I recommend!

#3 TOMB’S THUMB – PHOENIX

Challenging, overlooking view

| thumb trail tombs Hiking Arizona
  • Distance : 6.4km
  • Duration: 80-90 minutes
  • Price: Free

The Tomb’s Thumb Trail is a winding trail. First, if you want to venture on this trail, you’ll have an incredible view of the Mcdowell Mountains and the city of Phoenix. The trail is managed and supervised by volunteers from the association by McDowell Sonoran Conservancy of Scottsdale. On the other hand, there is no water at the beginning of the trail, so bring plenty to stay hydrated.

My opinion: It was one of my first trails in Arizona. I found the hike quite complicated but the view is worth the detour!

#4 BLUE MESA – PETRIFIED FOREST

Easy

blue mesa
  • Distance: 1.6 km loop
  • Starting point:Blue Mesa solar shelter
  • Price: Entrance fee to the national park

Blue Mesa Trail is located in the Petrified Forest National Park. Once at the starting point, you will find a trail that alternates between gravel and tar. A steep slope is at the beginning and at the end, fast but tiring!

This trail offers you a unique experience of walking among the bluish clay hills as well as petrified wood. Many plant and animal fossils have been discovered by paleontologists in the sedimentary layers of Blue Mesa.

My opinion: This trail is very easy, to find yourself facing the immensity of nature and petrified wood. A must do!

#5 SUNRISE TRAIL

Intermediate, grandiose

  • Distance: 8km
  • Starting point:Water fountain, N 145th Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85259
  • Price:Free
arizona sunrise trail

Sunrise Trail is a trail located near Fountain Hills. It offers panoramic views at each new bend with a gentle but permanageous climb. You will reach a stage viewpoint at 2 km, beyond which the ascent intensifies. The summit offers varied vistas, including the 4 Peaks Wilderness, Superstition Wilderness, Fountain Hills, South Mountain, Camelback and the nearby peaks of the McDowell Range.

My opinion: This trail is perfect for intermediate hikers. A bit of coast at the end and an incredible view awaits you. One of my most beautiful discoveries around Phoenix.

#6 West Fork Trail

Intermediate, fun, poetic

west fork trail
  • Distance: 3km or 14km
  • Duration: 2-3 hours
  • Price: $11 per car

There are a number of reasons why West Fork is one of the most popular trails in the Coconino National Forest. Once you’ve walked along the pleasant little stream that undulates along the canyon, look up at the vertiginous cliffs that dominate it, you’ll fall in love with it. West Fork is fantastic throughout the year. In the spring, songbirds adorn the trees. In autumn, the canyon is adorned with its most beautiful colors with red and golden leaves floating in transparent pools. In winter, ice cubes deal with red rocks. You’ll probably find a new reason to be here every time you visit. As for the trail itself, it’s an easy walk, but you have to cross the stream in several places. Usually, this involves negotiating a few strategic jumps or taking a few steps in shallow water. The trail is marked and maintained for the first three kilometers.

My opinion: I.N.C.R.O.There.Has.B.L.E, this hike is breathtaking, but beware there is not much parking space so I strongly advise you to get up early!

#7 BRIGHT ANGEL

Long, Amazing, Secure

Bright angel trail Grand Canyon
  • Distance:20km round trip
  • Duration: 4-5 hours to the campsite
  • Price: Grand Canyon Park Entrance Fee $30 per car


Motivated for your first big hike to the Grand Canyon? So let me introduce you to Bright Angel Trail. It is considered the first hiking trail in the park to have seen the light of day. Well maintained, with regular drinking water points and covered refuges, this is the safest trail in the Grand Canyon. There is a ranger station located halfway down the trail (Indian Garden) and one at the bottom of the canyon (Bright Angel Campground). In hot weather, I advise you to do this trail because you can find drinking water, regular shade and emergency phones on the way.

My opinion: Definitely a must do if you are looking for a hike to the Grand Canyon however I do not recommend doing it in a single day! Make a stop at the campsite for the night.

#8 MOUNT HUMPHREY’S

Very long, elevation, scenic

humphrey peak trail
  • Duration: 6h
  • Distance : 16km
  • Price: Free (during the winter), they can be obtained on Saturdays and Sundays at the Agassiz Lodge.

Go to the highest peak in Arizona! Discover Humphrey’s Summit Trail.
It starts at the Arizona Snowbowl ski resort at 2845m above sea level to the summit which rises to 3850m. On a clear day, you can see all the way to the north edge of the Grand Canyon. Beware of afternoon thunderstorms during the summer months, which is why it’s best to start your hikes early in the morning.

#9 SALOME JUG

LONG, DIFFICULT, FUN

Salome Jug trail | Hiking Arizona
  • Difficulty: Extremely difficult for beginners in hiking, it is necessary to have a good physical condition.
  • Duration: 5/6h
  • Price: Free

The Jug is a course including a long trail and a canyoning part. In fact, it includes water slides and a 10m jump from a waterfall at the end. (Warning: if you are not ready to make the final jump, do not venture into the canyon, there is no return possible so you have to take your courage with both hands and jump).
Indication: Once you have approached the canyon, its entrance is not well signposted. To be able to start the canyoning part, you need to open the fence for cattle blocking the trail. Once you reach the recognizable trail with its red earth, stay left. it is the entrance to the Canyon. However, if you go to the right, it brings you to the exit of the canyon without going through the aquatic part. In addition, both paths lead you to the same end point. This allows for example a group to separate if some want to make the jump and others do not.

My opinion: It is by far one of my favorite trails with its water course in the middle of a canyon and close to Lake Rosevelt. I strongly advise you to do this hike in May/June.

#10 FOSSIL CREEK

LONG | SCENIC

Fossil Spring| Hiking Arizona
  • Distance: 6km
  • Duration: 3h
  • Price: $6 or free out of season

Bob Bear Trailhead is the name of the trail, but you will easily find the destination by indicating the name of the cove: Fossil Creek.
In the first place the trail is located near the town of Strawberry. The trail descends for 6km into the canyon. The trail offers an amazing scenic experience but it is steep and extremely hot during the summer. It rewards you with access to one of Arizona’s most spectacular aquatic areas. There is no water or shade for the first 3.75 kilometers of the trail. The Bob Bear Trail is accessible via Fossil Creek Road from the town of Strawberry.
However, a permit is required to park your vehicle in the trail departure area from April 1st to October 1st. This is why during this season, a maximum of one permit per person per calendar month can be reserved (one permit = one day). Permits are available on the first of the month, one month in advance. Permits are not required from October 2 to March 31.

My opinion: Amazing hike all the way, once you get to the cove, take time and regain strength. However when you go for a dip, be careful not to jump into the bowl, many have lost their lives. Finally only experienced swimmers will have enough strength to get to the caves below the waterfall.

Finally LEAVE NO TRACE! This is an aspect that is important to me. We see far too much garbage on the edge of our wonderful trails so I leave you with theArizona Dream article to learn how to leave no trace behind.

Did you find this article about hiking in Arizona interesting? Tell me in the comment

Laisse un commentaire

Your email address will not be published.